ecopopla.blogg.se

Aquafina actress
Aquafina actress













aquafina actress
  1. #Aquafina actress movie#
  2. #Aquafina actress code#
  3. #Aquafina actress series#
  4. #Aquafina actress tv#

"There are young Asian girls that really look up to me, and I say that in the most non-cocky way ever," Awkwafina told Elle in 2018. She was the second Asian American woman to do so. In 2018, Awkwafina hosted Saturday Night Live.

#Aquafina actress code#

In 2014 she appeared on MTV's Girl Code, and the following year was seen on the spinoff Girl Code Live.

#Aquafina actress tv#

"I think that it was good," she said of the change, "because a lot of Asian American kids have that level of the language - just a conversational level, but the vocabulary isn’t there." TV ShowsĪwkwafina hosted the offbeat online talk show TAWK. She worked on her language skills to prepare for the role, but her character shifted from being a fluent speaker to one closer to Awkwafina's abilities. The Farewell required Awkwafina to speak Mandarin. Awkwafina did not grow up in a Chinese-speaking household but traveled to China as a young woman to study the language. In 2020 Awkwafina won the Golden Globe Award for Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy for her work in The Farewell, making her the first Asian American to win a Golden Globe for Best Actress. Awkwafina has said that the role resonated with her in part because of the early death of her mother. In her first lead role, she portrayed a Chinese American who struggles with her family's decision not to inform her Chinese grandmother of a terminal cancer diagnosis.

#Aquafina actress movie#

And to this day, everything that has happened to me - my first movie gig, my first non-music gig - was all from that."Īwkwafina's star continued to rise with 2019's The Farewell. The decision proved to be a turning point in her life, as she described to Rolling Stone in 2018, "I didn't expect anything to happen. "My Vag" was written when she was 19, a comeback to Mickey Avalon's "My Dick." In 2012 she recorded a low-budget video of the amusingly trash-talking song and uploaded it to YouTube. This is the one that this one hides behind, you know?" MusicĪwkwafina developed a love of rap music when she was young, was rapping herself by the age of 13, and later began using GarageBand to produce her own beats. But as I get older, I think they’re the same person. In a 2018 interview, Awkwafina explained how creating a new identity has helped her perform: "She comes in, and in many ways, she represents that universal aspect of confidence - that voice you kind of reach into when you need to pick yourself up." Yet in Vanity Fair's Hollywood 2020 issue, she said her identities as Nora and as Awkwafina have become less separate, "I mean, when I first started as Awkwafina there was a more distinct duality, where this is the one that’s performing and this is the one that’s at home having a panic attack. Then people started calling me that in real life." Years later, when she posted the video for "My Vag" on YouTube, " it seemed disingenuous to pick a random name to put the video under, so I stuck with what I felt was right.

aquafina actress

She wrote in People magazine in 2019, "I think all the time, what would I have been doing if my mom hadn't passed? I don't think I’d be here, because I think that I had to face a certain level of trauma to be so joyously self-deprecating and so free."Īwkwafina came up with the name Awkwafina when she was 16, with the spelling a nod to her feelings of awkwardness. Following this loss, Awkwafina began using humor to try to dispel the sadness she saw in those around her.

aquafina actress

Tia, a painter, suffered from pulmonary hypertension and passed away when Awkwafina was 4. Early LifeĪwkwafina was born Nora Lum on June 2, 1988, in Stony Brook, Long Island. She is the daughter of Chinese American Wally and Tia, who came to the United States from South Korea to study at SUNY New Paltz.

#Aquafina actress series#

She also co-created and stars in the series Awkwafina Is Nora From Queens. The next year she delivered an award-winning lead performance in The Farewell. In 2018 Awkwafina had key supporting roles in the hit films Ocean's 8 and Crazy Rich Asians. The video, which eventually went viral, cost her a job in book publicity but set her on the road to film and television stardom. In 2012, Awkwafina shared a video for her humorously boastful rap "My Vag" on YouTube. Awkwafina gained fame after her 2012 viral YouTube video "My Vag" and has since starred in movies such as 'Crazy Rich Asians,' 'Ocean's 8' and 'The Farewell.' Who Is Awkwafina?















Aquafina actress